What time is it?

Living on the west coast presents some challenges in regards to time zone issues. I work at a job that is east coast based, my family is predominately on Eastern time, live TV shows are normally only “live” for those on EST…the list goes on. EST is the chosen one of sorts.

20121220-080916.jpg

Via

It feels like I live on the west coast but have to continue to maintain (I use the word maintain loosely) an EST life. My system just can’t keep up with this.

I’ve had to start looking into ways to strike a balance between accommodating those in other zones and being able to live a healthy life where I’m at over here is PST.

One main way is to continue to remind myself: You can only do what you can do. I usually wake up obscenely early to communicate with those on the Atlantic–which means I’m exhausted by mid afternoon. If I have an early morning, I’ve started responding to later in the day engagements: I’m going to have to miss that–but, please do update me on how it went. This gives me the ability to wind down earlier on those days rather than keep at full throttle from 8 EST- 5 PST. This is the same for early morning items–you cannot do it all and need to accept that.

I’m also getting better about speaking up. Sometimes people just forget I’m on a different schedule than they are. It’s human nature to initially assume everyone is on your timezone. Normally, people are very understanding. There are always going to be times you have to suck it up and just do what needs to be done –even if it’s at 5 AM.

I do really miss the live TV, though. I’m not sure how one gets used to that. Being a current events junky, I prefer live coverage and up-to-the minute updates. I guess that’s what a cell phone is for…

~J

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “What time is it?

  1. Jill says:

    I’m glad you are taking care of yourself by realizing you can only do so much! I know you are an exceptional employee !!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

